May 17, 2024

Manchester Depot

Paradise Sport

2023 John R. Wooden Award Legends of Coaching Recipient

4 min read
2023 John R. Wooden Award Legends of Coaching Recipient

4 several hours ago
SEC Employees

Image: SEC Workers

LOS ANGELES, CA (Oct 4, 2022) – Dawn Staley will obtain the John R. Wood Award “Legends of Coaching” honor in 2023. Coach Wooden’s grandson-in-regulation Craig Impelman and 2021 recipient Dave Yanai ended up happy to announce her collection at the Los Angeles Athletic Club’s yearly Picket Award Tip-Off Luncheon. The function featured the head coaches from the Division I men’s basketball courses in Southern California. The “Legends of Coaching” honor acknowledges coaches who exemplify Mentor Wooden’s higher conventional of coaching accomplishment and personal integrity.

The “Legends of Coaching” award was adopted by the Wooden Award Steering Committee in 1999. The honorees are selected centered on character, accomplishment on the courtroom, graduation fee of pupil-athletes in their basketball application, coaching philosophy, and identification with the ambitions of the John R. Wooden Award. She will be introduced the honor along with the 2023 Wooden Award winners on April 7, 2023.

Coach Staley, a native of Philadelphia, PA, started her coaching career at Temple College, in which she led the Owls to six NCAA match appearances in her eight years at the helm. She has guided the College of South Carolina to remarkable heights in her 14 yrs of coaching there. She has led the Gamecocks to two Countrywide Championships (2017 & 2022), 4 Ultimate 4 appearances, six SEC frequent time championships, six SEC match championships and has coached two John R. Picket Award winners (A’ja Wilson in 2018 & Aliyah Boston in 2022). She has also received three Olympic gold medals as a coach for the Usa Women’s Basketball group, two as an assistant coach (2008 & 2016) and a person as the head coach (2020).

Staley’s exploits also have in excess of to her unbelievable on-court job. A two-time National Player of the Calendar year at the College of Virginia, she led the Cavaliers to three Closing Fours and was named Most Remarkable Participant of the 1991 match. A six-time WNBA All Star, in 2011 she was named to the WNBA’s Best 15 Gamers of All-Time, honoring the leading gamers in the league’s initial 15 decades. On the global phase, Staley received a few Olympic gold medals (1996, 2000 & 2004). In recognition of her good enjoying profession, she was inducted into the Naismith Basketball Corridor of Fame in 2013.

Off the court, Mentor Staley has been a beacon in her local community. She is the co-founder of INNERSOLE, which aims to offer new sneakers to homeless little ones and children in want. After her playing occupation, the WNBA created the Dawn Staley Local community Management Award, which is specified each year to a participant that exemplifies leadership properties in the group she life or performs.

John R. Picket Award

Legends of Coaching Honorees

2023 Dawn Staley, South Carolina

2022 Rick Byrd, Belmont

2021 Dave Yanai, Cal Point out Dominguez Hills/Los Angeles

2020 C. Vivian Stringer, Rutgers

2019 Lon Kruger, Oklahoma

2018 Jay Wright, Villanova

2017 Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame

2016 Tubby Smith, Texas Tech

2015 Steve Fisher, San Diego Point out

2014 Tara VanDerveer, Stanford

2013 Bill Self, Kansas

2012 Geno Auriemma, Connecticut

2011 Tom Izzo, Michigan Point out

2010 Billy Donovan, Florida

2009 Rick Barnes, Texas

2008 Pat Summitt, Tennessee

2007 Gene Keady, Purdue

2006 Jim Boeheim, Syracuse

2005 Jim Calhoun, Connecticut

2004 Mike Montgomery, Stanford

2003 Roy Williams, Kansas

2002 Denny Crum, Louisville

2001 Lute Olson, Arizona

2000 Mike Krzyzewski, Duke

1999 Dean Smith, North Carolina

About the John R. Wood Award

Made in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award System hosts the most prestigious honors in college or university basketball recognizing The Picket Award Most Fantastic Player for adult men and girls, The Wooden Award All America Groups for gentlemen and ladies and the annual range of the Wood Award Legend of Coaching recipient. Honorees have verified to their college that they meet up with or exceed the skills of the John R. Picket Award as set forth by Mentor Wooden and the Wooden Award Steering Committee, together with generating development towards graduation and maintaining at the very least a 2. cumulative GPA. Earlier winners incorporate Larry Chicken (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Kevin Durant (’07), Candace Parker (’07 ’08), Maya Moore (’09 ’11), Chiney Ogwumike (’14), and final year’s recipients, Aliyah Boston of South Carolina and Oscar Tshiebwe of Kentucky.

Because its inception, the John R. Picket Award has contributed just about one million pounds to the universities’ typical scholarship fund in the names of the Picket Award All American recipients and has despatched additional than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-prolonged university basketball camps. Furthermore, the John R. Wooden Award companions with the Specific Olympics Southern California (SOSC) every 12 months to host the Wood Award Particular Olympics Southern California Basketball Match. The day-extensive match delivers alongside one another Particular Olympics athletes and Wooden Award All Americans and coaches in attendance. It is hosted at the Los Angeles Athletic Club for the duration of the John R. Wooden Award Weekend.

The Legends of Coaching Award will be introduced together with the Wood Award Men’s and Women’s Players of the Calendar year on April 7, 2023. For up-to-day info on the Wood Award, make sure you go to and abide by the Picket Award on Fb at and @WoodenAward on Twitter and Instagram.