2022 SEC Cross Country Awards announced

6 hrs in the past
SEC Personnel

Picture: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Nov. 15, 2022)—–The Southeastern Convention introduced its 2022 cross country awards on Tuesday as voted on by the league’s head coaches.

The men’s recipients contain Alabama’s Victor Kiprop (Runner of the Yr), Arkansas’ Ben Shearer (Freshman Runner of the Calendar year) and Alabama’s Dan Waters (Coach of the Yr).

The women’s recipients contain Florida’s Parker Valby (Runner of the 12 months), Alabama’s Hilda Olemomoi (Freshman Runner of the 12 months) and Alabama’s Dan Waters (Mentor of the Calendar year).

Kiprop received the SEC men’s title with a time of 22:38.94, major the Crimson Tide to the crew title. Shearer was the leading male freshman finisher at the SEC Championships with a time of 23:57.61.

Valby received the SEC women’s crown with a file time of 18:25.87. Olemomoi was third with a time of 18:54.11 and registered the best time by a freshman.

Waters guided the Alabama gentlemen to their fourth SEC crown and to start with considering that 2009 and the Alabama gals to their 3rd SEC title and initial since 1987.

It was formerly declared that Ryan Kinnane of Auburn and Aiden Britt of Ole Miss out on ended up voted the Men’s Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year, though Kentucky’s Tori Herman was picked as the Women’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

2022 SEC Cross State Awards

Men’s Runner of the Year
 Victor Kiprop, Alabama

Men’s Freshman Runner of the 12 months
 Ben Shearer, Arkansas

Men’s Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Calendar year
 Ryan Kinnane, Auburn

Men’s Co-Scholar-Athlete of the 12 months
 Aiden Britt, Ole Overlook

Men’s Coach of the Calendar year
 Dan Waters, Alabama

Women’s Runner of the Year
 Parker Valby, Florida

Women’s Freshman Runner of the Calendar year
 Hilda Olemomoi, Alabama

Women’s Scholar-Athlete of the 12 months
 Tori Herman, Kentucky

Women’s Mentor of the Calendar year
 Dan Waters, Alabama